2016 Taiwan Creative Hub Report Presentation

On 16 December 2016 at the newly-opened Songshan Creative Lab in Taipei, the British Council in Taiwan, partnering with Songshan Culture & Creative Park (SCCP), presented the first Chinese-English report and short documentary film about Taiwan’s local creative hub development followed by an international forum discussion“Now & Future: Creative Hubs”. Six hub directors from all over Taiwan are invited to share at the forum each of their vision, business philosophy, and operation experiences in areas of Artist Residence, Old Neighborhood Regeneration and Makerspace Development with 60 participating local creative artists, administrators, press and government officials .  

In this mapping report, we have interviewed 10 selected hubs from rural county to urban cities, representing five major types of creative hub in Taiwan, including Taipei, Taichung, Tainan, Kaohsiung and Taitung.  Based on the type of Talents and Synergy to be produced by the hubs, the five types of hubs are: Lifestyle-oriented (Tiehua Village/Zheng Xin Street/FantasyStory Micro Cultural Cluster/URS 155), Arts-based (Cloud Gate Theatre/Bamboo Curtain Studio), Knowledge-based (OpenLab Taipei), Brand-forward (Culture & Creativity Incubation and R&D Center, National Cheng Kung University) and Imaginative Power (Songshan Culture & Creative Park/ Pier-2 Art Center). Testimonies from these hub owners on their core value, business governance model, and operational challenges are collected via in-depth interviews.  4 creative industry observers from urban planning background are also interviewed to contribute their thoughts and comments on local government policy, trends and social impact creative hubs face in Taiwan to enable deeper understanding of Taiwan’s context. 

The report highlights the significant contribution of the creative hubs on artist development, old neighbourhood regeneration, and creative enterprise incubation. They offer a welcoming environment where people meet, exchange ideas and challenge their own boundaries. They play an important part in changing the city’s identity and urban development. The hubs have become a source of inspiration for creativity and networking places for people working in the creative and business sectors.

The report also reveals the issues the creative hubs face in Taiwan.  The issues include the need of better way to evaluate creative hubs’ success rather than over-relying on KPI assessment; the need to invest more in training professional arts administrators to better support artists; the need for local authority to help retaining reasonable rentals for creative spaces against inflation in property development; the need for wider international network and the need to attain a balanced collaboration and open communication channel between government direction (top-down) and grass root creative hub development (bottom-up).  

These findings provide useful indications for the future program development on creative hub network and training between UK and Taiwan.

Full version of the report could be downloaded below.  You can also view the creative hub documentary film on below link.

2016 臺灣創意樞紐地圖:尋找臺灣的創意脈絡

臺灣英國文化協會與松山文創園區於2016年12月16日共同發表「臺灣創意樞紐地圖:尋找臺灣的創意脈絡」首份中、英文報告和影像記錄,當天更邀請來自臺灣各地六個創意樞紐的負責人參與「創意樞紐:現況與展望」國際論壇,針對他們在藝術家駐村、老建物更新和自造者推廣上的願景、經營模式和經驗與約60名聽眾分享。本次活動更吸引到多位本地藝術家、藝術管理人、記者和相關政府官員到場參加,增加相互交流機會。

在這份報告中,我們訪問了來自10個臺北、臺中、臺南、臺東和高雄五地、來自不同城鄉背景的創意樞紐。我們更依照各創意樞紐的型態和綜效,將它們賦予五大「創造力」概念:生活力(臺東縣鐵花村音樂聚落、臺南市正興一條街、臺中市范特喜微創文化聚落和臺北市URS155團圓大稻埕)、藝術力(新北市雲門劇場和新北市竹圍工作室)、智造力(臺北市OpenLab.Taipei)、品牌力(臺南市成功大學文創育成與研發中心)、想像力(臺北市松山文創園區和高雄市駁二藝術特區),以此進一步勾勒台灣創造力景觀。我們也前往這10個創意樞紐進行探訪,希望能了解這些負責人在創造樞紐的核心價值、產值和面對發展現實面所做的一些努力。報告中也包含4位產業觀察家提出幾個對於他們在面對政府規範、創造社群影響力等建議,完整呈現並深度探討臺灣本地發展狀況。

報告中提到了這些創意樞紐在人才培育、老街區更新及創意產業推廣上的重要貢獻。這些據點不但能提供給民眾一個可以面對面分享想法和挑戰自己的界限的地方,更是成為在藝術及商業領域的人一個發想和交流的好去處,也逐漸成為支援城市發展和奠定都市印象的重要支柱。

本報告也提出了這些創意樞紐在臺灣遇到的一些挑戰。這些挑戰包括健全政策體制資源(以比現有只看KPI更有效的方式來衡量創意樞紐的績效)、加強創意人才培育、建構永續發展體系、縮短城鄉文化差距以及保持由上到下(從政府到地方)和下到上(由創意樞紐到政府)之間的合作和溝通。而參考這些問題也讓未來不論是臺灣或是英國對於創意樞紐的建置或是培養上都有極大的幫助。

歡迎在以下連結下載「臺灣創意樞紐地圖:尋找臺灣的創意脈絡」中文版報告,您也可以前往瀏覽本次報告相關的影像記錄片。